University of Florida Homepage

Faculty & Researchers

Astronomy faculty have offices in the Bryant Space Center (BRT), and affiliated faculty have offices in the New Physics Building (NPB)

 NameContact Information
Image of Sarah Ballard

Ballard, Sarah

Assistant Professor
Exoplanet detection and characterization
Office: BRT 212
Phone: (352) 294-1866
sarahballard@ufl.edu
Image of Laura Blecha

Blecha, Laura F

Assistant Professor of Physics; Astronomy Department Affiliate
Office: NPB 2174
Phone: (352) 392–4948
lblecha@ufl.edu
Image of Stephen Eikenberry

Eikenberry, Stephen S

Professor
Graduate Coordinator
Instrumentation; black holes; neutron & massive stars
Office: BRT 404
Phone: (352) 294–1833
eiken@astro.ufl.edu
Image of Rana Ezzeddine

Ezzeddine, Rana

Assistant Professor
Low-metallicity stars, non-LTE modeling
Starting Spring 2020
Image of Jian Ge

Ge, Jian

Professor
Extrasolar planet detection; instrumentation; imaging techniques
Office: BRT 304
Phone: (352) 294–1850
jge@astro.ufl.edu
Picture of Adam Ginsburg

Ginsburg, Adam

Assistant Professor
High-mass star formation, interstellar medium, radio and millimeter astronomy, astronomical software
Office: BRT 218
Phone: (352) 294 1879
adamginsburg@ufl.edu
Picture of Anthony Gonzalez

Gonzalez, Anthony H

Professor
Associate Chair
Galaxy cluster evolution; extragalactic surveys; observational cosmology
Office: BRT 211A
Phone: (352) 294–1845
anthonyhg@astro.ufl.edu
Picture of Rafael Guzman

Guzmán, Rafael

Professor
Galaxy evolution; galaxy scaling-laws; instrumentation
Office: BRT 214
Phone: (352) 294–1878
guzman@astro.ufl.edu
Picture of Elizabeth Lada

Lada, Elizabeth A

Professor
Department Chair
Star formation; young embedded clusters; molecular clouds
Office: BRT 211E
Phone: (352) 294–1862
elada@astro.ufl.edu
Picture of Naibi Marinas

Mariñas, Naibi

Lecturer
Star formation; circumstellar disks; mid-infrared imaging and spectroscopy
Office: BRT 224
Phone: (352) 294–1859
marinas@astro.ufl.edu

Matcheva, Katia


Associate Professor of Physics; Astronomy Department Affiliate
Office: 2073 NPB
Phone: (352) 392-0286
matcheva@ufl.edu
Picture of Desika Narayanan

Narayanan, Desika

Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Coordinator
Theoretical astrophysics; cosmological galaxy formation; physics of the interstellar medium
Office: BRT 216
Phone: (352) 294–1865
desika.narayanan@ufl.edu
Picture of Francisco Reyes

Reyes, Francisco J

Associate Scientist & Lecturer
Director of the UF Teaching Observatories
Low frequency planetary radio astronomy; instrumentation; education
Office: BRT 12
Phone: (352) 294–1885
freyes@astro.ufl.edu
Picture of Paul Sell

Sell, Paul

Lecturer
Optical and X-ray observations of X-ray binaries and starburst galaxies
Office: BRT 222
psell@ufl.edu
Zack Slepian

Slepian, Zachary

Assistant Professor
Dark energy, dark matter, structure formation, large surveys, analytic methods, star formation
Office: BRT 302
Phone: (352) 294–1851
zslepian@ufl.edu
Picture of Charles Telesco

Telesco, Charles M

Professor
Circumstellar disks; protoplanetary disks; instrumentation
Office: BRT 414
Phone: (352) 294–1874
telesco@astro.ufl.edu
Image of Paul Torrey

Torrey, Paul

Assistant Professor
Galaxy formation and evolution; cosmological simulations; numerical methods; high performance computing
Office: BRT 310
Phone: (352) 294–1846
paul.torrey@ufl.edu
Image of Bo

Zhao, Bo

Associate Scientist (Senior Optical Engineer)
Optical instrumentation; applied optics; lens design
Column
Office: BRT 314
Phone: (352) 294–1847
speczb@astro.ufl.edu

Scientists

 NameContact Information
Image of George Privon

Privon, George

Postdoctoral Associate
Galaxy evolution; interstellar medium; dynamical modeling
Office: BRT 320
Phone: (352) 294–1844
george.privon@ufl.edu

Faculty Emeritus

 NameContact Information
Image of Howard

Cohen, Howard

Professor Emeritus
Image of Stanley Dermott

Dermott, Stanley F

Professor Emeritus
Solar system dynamics; structure of the zodiacal cloud; debris disks
Office: BRT 213
Phone: (352) 294–1864
sdermott@astro.ufl.edu
Image of Steve

Gottesman, Steve

Professor Emeritus
Image of Bo

Gustafson, Bo

Professor Emeritus
Picture of George Lebo

Lebo, George

Associate Professor Emeritus
Office: BRT 11A
Phone: (352) 294–1887
lebo@astro.ufl.edu
Picture of Robert Wilson

Wilson, Robert E

Professor Emeritus
Stellar models; variable stars; binary star systems
Office: BRT 322
Phone: (352) 294–1843
rewilson@astro.ufl.edu