University of Florida Homepage

Graduate Students

 NameContact
Image of Nicholas Barth

Barth, Nicholas

Office: BRT 401
Phone: (352) 294-1890
nbarth@ufl.edu
Image of Quadry Chance

Chance, Quadry

Office: BRT 319
Phone: (352) 294-1857
qchance@ufl.edu
Image of Chenxing Dong

Dong, Chenxing


Galaxies; cosmology
Office: BRT 315
Phone: (352) 294–1854
dcx@ufl.edu
Image of Marika Edwards

Edwards, Marika

Office: BRT 319A
Phone: (352) 294-1857
marika.edwards@ufl.edu
Image of Karolina Garcia


Garcia, Karolina


Cosmology; extragalactic astrophysics; galaxy clusters; Type Ia Supernovae
Office: BRT 309A
Phone: (352) 294–1852
karolina.garcia@ufl.edu
Image of Prerak Garg

Garg, Prerak


Neburlar lines; star formation; simulations
Office: BRT 315
Phone: (352) 294–1854
prerakgarg@ufl.edu
Amy ebeb

Gottlieb, Amy



X-ray binaries, Compact objects
Office: BRT 401
Phone: (352) 294–1890
agottlieb7@ufl.edu
Image of Desmond Jeff

Jeff, Desmond


Galaxy evolution; star formation
Office: BRT 319
Phone: (352) 294–1857
d.jeff@ufl.edu
Image of Sarik Jeram

Jeram, Sarik K


Instrumentation; 3d printing/ rapid prototyping; detection of optically bright QSOs
Office: BRT 401
Phone: (352) 294–1890
sarik93@ufl.edu
Image of Sankalp Gilda

Gilda, Sankalp

Office: BRT 319A
Phone: (352) 294–1857
s.gilda@ufl.edu
Image of Benjamin Kimock

Kimock, Benjamin J


Galaxy formation, high-performance computing, exoplanet dection
Office: BRT 319
Phone: (352) 294–1857
kimockb@ufl.edu
Placeholder male portrait

Li, Qi


Galaxy evolution; ISM; (magneto)hydrodynamics simulations
Office: BRT 324
Phone: (352) 294–1853
pg3552@ufl.edu
Image of Yangyang Li

Li, Yangyang


Exoplanets detection & validation; statistical science; deep learning
Office: BRT 315
Phone: (352) 294–1854
yangyangli@ufl.edu
Image of Sidney Lower

Lower, Sidney


Galaxy formation and evolution; high redshift Universe
Office: BRT 315
Phone: (352) 294–1854
s.lower@ufl.edu
Image of Genevieve Markees

Markees, Genevieve


Exoplanet detection
Office: BRT 309A
Phone: (352) 294–1852
gmarkees@ufl.edu
Placeholder female portrait

Moraitis, Christina

Office: BRT 401
Phone: (352) 294-1890
c.moraitis@ufl.edu
Image of Emily Moravec

Moravec, Emily A


Galaxy evolution; AGN; radio galaxies; galaxy clusters
Office: BRT 309A
Phone: (352) 294–1852
emoravec@ufl.edu
Image of Theo Richardson

Richardson, Theo


Office: BRT 315
Phone: (352) 294-1854
richardson.t@ufl.edu
Image of Jonah Rose

Rose, Jonah


Galaxy formation; Alternative dark matter models; Observational tests of dark matter
Office: BRT 317
Phone: (352) 294-1855
j.rose@ufl.edu
Image of William Schap

Schap, William J III (Billy)


Star formation; hyperfine data fitting
Office: BRT 319
Phone: (352) 294–1857
wschap@ufl.edu
Image of Shivani Shah

Shah, Shivani

Office: BRT 319B
Phone: (352) 294–1857
shivani.shah@ufl.edu
Image of Luke Thongkam

Thongkam, Khunanon (Luke)

Office: BRT 315
Phone: (352) 294-1854
kthongkham@ufl.edu
Image of Keith Tirimba

Tirimba, Keith



Star Formation, Galaxy Evolution, Star Clusters
Office: BRT 401
Phone: (352) 294-1890
ktirimba@ufl.edu
Image of Amanda Townsend

Townsend, Amanda


Instrumentation; small telescopes; 3D printing/ rapid prototyping; compact objects; AGN
Office: BRT 401
Phone: (352) 294–1835
ajtownsend@ufl.edu
Image of Yinan Zhao

Zhao, Yinan


Gamma-ray bursts; interstellar & intergallactic dust; galaxy evolution; machine learning
Office: BRT 401
Phone: (352) 294–1890
yinanzhaos@ufl.edu

Very Recent Ph.D. Recipients

 NameContact
Placeholder male portrait

Dallilar, Yigit


Black hole binaries; relativistic jets; fast IR imaging/polarimetry; IR instrumentation
ydallilar@ufl.edu
Image of Nolan Grieves

Grieves, Nolan


Exoplanet dectection & characterization; radial velocity data analysis; stellar transit simulation
ngrieves@ufl.edu
Image of Rebecca Pitts

Pitts, Rebecca L


Star formation; prestellar clouds; SED-fitting software; massive stars
rlpitts@ufl.edu