University of Florida

Group Alumni

The following is a listing of previous group members (both UF and Cornell).

Dr. John Wilson -- former postdoctoral fellow (Cornell 2000-2002); staff scientist at University of Virginia (2003-)
Dr. Jose Marino -- former postdoctoral fellow (UF 2009-2010); staff scientist at NSO (2012-)
Dr. Antonio Marin-Franch -- former GTC postdoctoral fellow (2003-2006); Juan de la Cierva prize fellow at IAC (2006-2010); staff astronomer and Head of Instrumentation  at CEFCA (Teruel, Spain) (2010-)

Graduate Students
Dr. Dae-Sik Moon -- PhD 2003 (Cornell); Millikan Postdoctoral Prize Fellow at Caltech (2003-2006); Assoc. Prof. at U. Toronto (2006-)
Dr. Joseph Carson -- PhD 2004 (Cornell); postdoc at JPL (2004-2007); postdoc at MPIA-Heidelberg (2007-2010); Asst Prof at College of Charleston (2010-)
Dr. Jami Meteer -- PhD in Electrical Engineering 2004 (Cornell) jointly supervised w/E. Kan; engineer at Intel Corp (2005-)
Dr. David Rothstein -- PhD 2006 (Cornell), jointly supervised with R. Lovelace; NSF postdoctoral fellow at Cornell (2006-2009); educational software developer (2009-)
Dr. David Clark -- PhD 2007 (Florida); UNAM postdoctoral prize fellow at IA-UNAM Ensenada (2007-2009); Resident Astronomer at IA-UNAM (2009-)
Dr. Valerie Mikles -- PhD 2008 (Florida); postdoctoral fellow at LSU (2009-2011); Scientific writer (2012-)
Dr. Michelle Edwards -- PhD 2008 (Florida) co-supervised with Reba Bandyopadhyay; Gemini Science Fellow (2008-2012); LBT Staff Astronomer (2012-)
Dr. Miguel Charcos -- PhD 2009 (Florida); NASA Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA) (2010-2015);  UK National Oceanographic Center (2015-)
Dr. Mark Keremedjiev -- PhD 2011 (Florida); ORISE Fellow (2011-2012);  Federal Government (2012-)
Dr. Curtis Dewitt -- PhD 2011 (Florida); UC/NASA Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA) Postdoc for EXES (2011-)
Dr. Nestor Lasso -- PhD 2012 (Florida); U. Concepcion (Chile) Postdoc (2012-2013); CEFCA (Spain) Postdoc (2013-)

Jessica Lavine -- graduate student (2003-2005); scientist at Raytheon Corp (2005-)
Rebecca Pitts -- graduate student (2014-2015); graduate student in astronomy at UF (2014-)
Mindy Jo Robinson -- graduate student (2003-2004); graduate student in oceanography at USF (2004-)

(partial listing -- contact me if your name should appear here!)

Dana Alexander
P. Brian Cameron -- Caltech PhD in astronomy; Technical director at the Aerospace Corporation
Brian Chinn -- Mechanical Engineer at Gemini Observatory (Chile)
David Dror
Ben Fierce
Will Fischer -- UMass-Amherst PhD in Astronomy; postdoc at U. Toledo
Jonathan Foster -- Harvard PhD in Astronomy; currently postdoc at Yale University
Megan Garske -- laser engineer at Lockheed Martin
Eliot Grafer -- grad student in optical sciences at CREOL/UCF
Dounan Hu
Malia Jackson -- poet/blogger in San Francisco
Ryan Karins
David Kull
Alfred Lee
Laura Lopez -- UCSC PhD in astrophysics; Pappalardo postdoc at MIT; professor at Ohio State
Vincent Luh
Everett Maness
Garrett Mason
Catlin Nchako -- MPP from Georgetown; Research Associate at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Shannon Patel -- UCSC PhD in astrophysics; postdoc at Leiden
Rishon Saftler
Dmitry Savransky -- Princeton PhD; postdoc at Lawrence Livermore; professor at Cornell
Kevin Schawinsky -- Oxford PhD in astrophysics; postdoc at Yale; professor at ETH Zurich
Sam Sewall
Jeremiah Shipman
Brienne Shkedi -- engineer at NASA